Glemsford Road, Stowmarket, Suffolk, IP14 2PN

01449 613112

Combs Ford Primary School

Welcome to Combs Ford Primary School

Our Curriculum

Curriculum Content

At Combs Ford Primary we plan our curriculum in 'phases', although much of the curriculum is separated into and taught in, individual year groups:

  • Reception   - known as the Early Years Phase
  • Years 1 & 2 - known as the Key Stage One Phase
  • Years 3 & 4 - known as the Lower Key Stage Two Phase
  • Years 5 & 6 - known as the Upper Key Stage Two Phase

We use a topic based approach to planning for some areas of our curriculum, with other areas being taught discretely when this seems more appropriate.

We are always happy to discuss any areas of our curriculum with parents / carers - if you have any concerns or questions about any part of our curriculum, or would simply like to know a bit more, do please get in touch and we will be happy to arrange a meeting.

Following an extensive review of our whole curriculum during 2018-19, we have re-written a number of areas within our curriculum and are currently in the process of checking its coverage (if our implementation leads to the actual coverage matching the intended coverage that was planned for).

Below we have attached our Coverage Maps for 2021-22: these show how we have planned to cover all elements of the National Curriculum through the topics we have chosen. During the year we are comparing these with the actual coverage achieved each half term - this allows us to compare 'Implementation' verses 'Intent' - we are then uploading updated coverage maps.


Curriculum Coverage Maps

Art Skills mapping_whole school

Computing Skills mapping_whole school

Design Technology Skills mapping_whole school

Geography Skills mapping_whole school

History Skills mapping_whole school

Languages mapping_whole school

Music Skills mapping_whole school

PE Skills mapping_whole school

PSHE RSE skills mapping_whole school - this is based on the Jigsaw 3-11 programme of learning

RE Skills mapping_whole school - for RE (Religious Education), we follow the Suffolk Scheme of Work outline using the Emmanuel Study Units

Science Skills mapping_whole school


Maths - we have individual maps for each year group:

Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6


English - we have the following maps for the year groups:

Year 1

Year 2

Lower Key Stage 2 (Yrs 3&4)

Upper Key Stage 2 (Yrs 5&6)


Whole School Overview Map of Topics:

Whole School Curriculum Overview Map (this is updated half-termly)


Please note that these curriculum maps are an indication of our intended coverage - we are constantly revising and updating our plans order to incorporate new ideas. Therefore, the maps shown here may not reflect exactly what your child is being taught, although any differences ought to be slight. We do try to update these on the website when significant changes have been made.

If you would like detailed information, please visit the pages for individual year groups, as you will find lots of information, including the particular topics they cover, information on how they organise things in that specific year group and lots more. For Years 1 & 2 this will include information upon the way we teach phonics and reading.

Information upon our intent and implementation approaches for all subject areas is available via our Curriculum Policy Booklet

If there is anything you would like to know about our curriculum that you can not find either on this page or one of the individual year group pages, please contact the Headteacher Mr Clark (see Contact Us page) or Mrs Tanner, our Curriculum Leader, and they will be happy to help!